2018 Presidential Award winners recognized

Linked by what President William L. Henrich, M.D., MACP, called a common “desire to contribute in a unique and meaningful way for the benefit of others,” extraordinary members of the faculty and staff were honored March 1 with Presidential Awards from UT Health San Antonio.

The sixteen individuals and one team who were honored “embody the reason that UT Health San Antonio exists: to make lives better,” said Dr. Henrich. The awards were given in the areas of employee excellence, teaching excellence, clinical excellence, and for distinguished research scholars.

Dr. Henrich thanked the selection committees chaired by Jacqueline Mok, Ph.D., vice president for academic, faculty and students affairs, and Maritza Ramirez from the Office of Human Resources.

The winners were acknowledged with a congratulatory Senate Proclamation from the State of Texas by state Sen. Jose Menendez of San Antonio as well as a monetary gift.

The winners are:

Distinguished Senior Research Scholar

Jean X. Jiang, Ph.D., Ashbel Smith Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Structural Biology, Long School of Medicine

Distinguished Junior Research Scholar

Jean C. Bopassa, Ph.D., assistant professor, Department of Cellular and Integrative Physiology, Long School of Medicine

Clinical Excellence

Bruce E. Christensen, D.H.Sc., PA-C, specialist, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Department of Medicine, Long School of Medicine; assistant professor/clinical, Department of Physician Assistant Studies, School of Health Professions

Michael B. Little, M.D., associate professor/clinical, Department of Anesthesiology, Long School of Medicine

John G. Myers, M.D., professor/clinical, Division of Trauma and Emergency Surgery, Department of Surgery, Long School of Medicine

Teaching Excellence

Martha Acosta, Ph.D., PT, assistant professor, Department of Physical Therapy, School of Health Professions

Jane E. O’Rorke, M.D., FACP, professor/clinical, Division of General and Hospital Medicine, Department of Medicine, Long School of Medicine

Babatunde O. Oyajobi, Ph.D., professor and director of education, Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy, Long School of Medicine

Craig Sisson, M.D., associate professor/clinical, director, Division of Ultrasound, Department of Emergency Medicine, Long School of Medicine

Achint K. Singh, M.D., assistant professor, Department of Radiology, Long School of Medicine

Azizeh Sowan, Ph.D., RN, associate professor, School of Nursing

Employee Excellence

Rose Ann Barajas, project coordinator, Department of Pediatrics-Endocrinology, Long School of Medicine

Chris G. Green, director, Office of Sponsored Programs

Jeffrey Jackson, Ed.D., director of curriculum evaluation, Undergraduate Medical Education, Long School of Medicine

Le’Keisha Johnson, M.B.A., director, Office of Student Life

Myra Joseph, RN, health program coordinator, UT Health Physicians Practice Operations, Long School of Medicine

Team Excellence

     UT Teen Health, Department of OB/GYN

Kristen Plastino, M.D., professor and director

Gabriel Aguilar, B.A., health educator – senior

Nicole A. Dierschke, Dr.Ph., M.P.H., project coordinator – Senior

Gary Eells, B.S., administrative assistant – associate

Lynette Forero, B.S., health educator – senior

Angela Garcia-Saenz, M.A., health educator – senior

Joette Garza-Garibay, M.H.A., health educator – senior

Esmeralda Jeffries, B.A., project coordinator

Denise Lewis, B.A., health educator

Diana Lowe, B.S.N., project manager – senior

JoYvonne “Bonnie” Moreno, B.A., administrative assistant – senior

María Peche, office manager

Ámbar Ríos, M.S., LPC, intern, health educator – senior

William “Bill” Sandburg, M.A., health educator – senior

Connie Soria, M.S., health educator – senior

Amelia Teodosio, B.A., health ducator – senior

Jennifer Todd, J.D., B.S.N., project manager – senior

Carolyn Welker, B.A., health educator

View the Presidential Awards video

View the Presidential Awards program

Share This Article!