2019 inductees named for Gold Humanism Honor Society

The Marvin Forland, M.D., Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society at UT Health San Antonio has announced its Class of 2019.

Through the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, the honor society promotes humanism as the core of health care. The society recognizes students, residents and faculty who are exemplars of compassionate patient care and who serve as role models, mentors, and leaders in medicine. Members at UT Health are usually third- and fourth-year medical students.

2019 inductees include Christina Aldrich, Shane Ali, Larissa Aroche-Gutierrez, Ryan Barrera, Natalie Clericuzio, Stephanie Cornell, Marissa Emadi, Austin Enenmoh, Kyle Fisk, Tomás V. González Cano, Amina Igeh, Katherine Kazen and Rosemary Liu.

Also, Mahsa Madani, Andrew Maroda, Maureen Montgomery, Rebekah Muenich and Brandon Parker, Roarke Prince, Madeleine Puig, Chase Romere, Isabelle Seto, Travis Simmons, Michael Tcheyan, Jose O. Torres, Yvonne Uyanwune, Josh Walther and Hye Ryung Yang.

The UT Health San Antonio chapter is named for emeritus professor Marvin Forland, M.D., a founding faculty member. He was instrumental in the creation and development of the Center for Medical Humanities & Ethics (CMHE), which teaches ethics and professionalism while nurturing empathy and humanitarian values, and which oversees the Gold Humanism Honor Society. Though retired, Dr. Forland continues to work each day at the CMHE.

Share This Article!