2021 inductees named for Gold Humanism Honor Society

The Marvin Forland, MD, Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society at UT Health San Antonio has announced its Class of 2021.

Through the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, the honor society promotes humanism and compassionate patient care. The society recognizes students, residents and faculty who serve as leaders and role models of the human connection in health care. Members are usually third- and fourth-year medical students.

2021 inductees include Jordan Barton Garcia, Maria Benson, Laura Berardo, John Cabot, Hayley Cantway, Glennette Castillo, Kinsey Dittmar, Alexandria Davis, Max Feng, Aaron Frolichstein, Clark Gravell, Jeremiah Gress, Rachel Han, Lindsay Hartup, Victoria Helton and Jessica Hill.

Also, Andrew Jeffery, Sarah Kenny, Callie Klaerner, Sejal Lahoti, Jordan McMaster, Grace McNair Luger, Mitchell Parma, Tommy Pham, Delaney Rawson, Mackenzie Spaniol, Jared Stowers, Nimmy Thomas and Tracey Vuong.

The UT Health San Antonio chapter is named for its founding faculty member, emeritus professor Marvin Forland, MD. His work was vital to the creation and development of the Center for Medical Humanities and Ethics, which teaches ethics and professionalism while nurturing empathy and humanitarian values, and which oversees the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

This year also marked the chapter’s triennial check-in survey, which resulted in an “Exemplary” ranking from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. This is the highest ranking bestowed, and it honors the activities and programs conducted by the chapter’s medical students that demonstrate empathy, advocacy and compassion at all levels in the health care workplace.

Share This Article!