Ashok Kumar, M.D., honored by Texas Medical Association

Ashok Kumar, M.D.
Ashok Kumar, M.D.

Kaparaboyna Ashok Kumar, M.D., professor and vice chair of Medical Student Education and Clerkship Director, received a Texas Medical Association Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine at the Gold Level on April 28. The award was presented at a meeting of the Council on Medical Education as part of TMA’s TexMed 2016 conference at the Hilton Anatole Dallas.

Dr. Kumar has been involved in teaching medical students and residents for 18 years. He is a longtime member of the TMA Subcommittee for Academic Physicians.  He also volunteers as faculty advisor to the TMA Student Section at the Health Science Center and was recognized by the students with the C. Frank Webber Award for Outstanding Service.

His leadership positions included a term as president of Bexar County Medical Society, as well as the Texas Academy of Family Physicians and Texas Indo-American Physician Society. He has been described as a “superb role model in community service for students and residents.” Dr. Kumar volunteers in many areas, including leadership roles with the San Antonio Mayor’s Fitness Council.

The multilevel award program, created in 2012 by TMA’s Subcommittee for Academic Physicians, is designed to recognize academic physicians who are consummate teachers, role models, and medical professionals.

Dr. Kumar was among 14 physicians who were recognized by TMA this year at its annual meeting through the academic award program.

Share This Article!