Community health worker raises funds for families in need

February 26, 2021

As a community health worker, Ludivina Hernandez, community outreach coordinator for the ReACH Center, serves as a trusted liaison between community members and the health and social services sectors. During the chaos of the winter storms, she quickly connected with other members of the San Antonio Community Health Workers Association to raise funds for 10 […]

snow and ice on campus.

Lab Animal Resources staff defy icy roads, spend nights on campus to care for animals

February 26, 2021

As mission-critical staff, the Lab Animal Resources (LAR) team attend to the needs of the university’s lab animals seven days a week, come pandemic or snow storms. When the weather turned dangerous on Feb. 15, Sander Hacker, VMD, DACLAM, director of Lab Animal Resources, and Jack Simons, MS, LATg, CMAR, associate director of Animal Services […]

Members of family and community medicine stand in the snow on campus.

Residents demonstrate grit to care for patients during winter storm

February 26, 2021

Residents and team leads in the Department of Family and Community Medicine displayed extraordinary resiliency and leadership taking care of patients and each other during the winter storms. “As COVID has taught us, in every difficult situation for the health care community and the community at large, there is plenty of good to be found,” […]

Faculty member elected to leadership position of prestigious organization

February 9, 2021

John Calhoon, MD, professor and cardiothoracic surgeon in the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery, was recently named first vice president and president-elect of The Society of Thoracic Surgeons.

AFSA offices to relocate to library

January 11, 2021

The Registrar’s Office and the Office of International Services will begin the process of moving to the Briscoe Library Jan. 19. The relocation is the first phase of an initiative to gather offices from the Division of Academic, Faculty and Student Affairs (AFSA) into a single location, helping to better serve students and faculty.

Trophy in front of stack of books with apple on top.

Three faculty members selected to UT System’s Shine Academy

December 21, 2020

Faculty members Babatunde “Kay” Oyajobi, MD, PhD, MBA; Bridgett Piernik-Yoder, PhD, OTR; and Moshtagh Farokhi, DDS, MPH, have been selected.