Dr. Eileen Breslin, Carolyn Jones, John Franklin and Mary Henrich

Compassion of nurses showcased at Nursing Advisory Council Luncheon

May 17, 2019

A presentation by photographer and filmmaker Carolyn Jones took guests attending the Nursing Advisory Council Luncheon on a journey showing the diversity, creativity, compassion and dedication of nurses, as told through their personal stories. The presentation played to an appreciative audience of more than 300 that included UT Health San Antonio School of Nursing faculty, staff […]

Read more

School of Nursing, church to hold early Mother’s Day celebration for moms, babies in recovery together

May 8, 2019

Media contact: Rosanne Fohn, (210) 567-3026, fohn@uthscsa.edu WHAT:           Pregnant and parenting women recovering from opioid use disorder and their children will celebrate an early Mother’s Day dinner provided by Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church. Following the dinner at Casa Mia, a recovery home for mothers and their children, UT Health San Antonio School of Nursing […]

Read more

Nursing professor receives national environmental health award

May 7, 2019

SAN ANTONIO (May 7, 2019) ― Adelita G. Cantu, Ph.D., RN, from UT Health San Antonio, has received the Charlotte Brody Award. The award was presented May 7 by Health Care Without Harm. The  coalition seeks to reduce the environmental footprint of health care worldwide. Charlotte Brody was a registered nurse, environmental activist and founder […]

Read more

Kenneth M. Hargreaves, D.D.S., Ph.D.

Opioid crisis: UT Health looking to replace highly addictive drugs

April 30, 2019

Kenneth Hargreaves, D.D.S., Ph.D., is principal investigator of the four-year grant.

Read more

Kenneth M. Hargreaves, D.D.S., Ph.D.

$6 million grant to further research on new, nonaddictive pain reliever

April 29, 2019

(SAN ANTONIO (April 29, 2019) ― UT Health San Antonio has received a $6 million grant from the Department of Defense to continue work on a new, nonaddictive class of pain relievers. Kenneth Hargreaves, D.D.S., Ph.D., is principal investigator of the four-year grant. It will fund the last phase of preclinical work to identify the […]

Read more

Peter Loomer, Eileen Breslin, Lourdes Castaneda, Mike Black, Mary DeLay, Amy Shaw Thomas, William Henrich, Gladys Keene, Armando Diaz, Hector Gonzalez and Erika Martinez

UT institutions, Laredo advisory council move toward more collaborative programs

April 25, 2019

Collaborative programs for education, clinical care and research were among the topics discussed April 4 by leadership of UT Health San Antonio, the UT System and the Laredo Regional Campus Advisory Council (RCAC).

Read more