Behind every student’s success is strong faculty support

Zoom instruction became common during COVID
The need for online instruction expertise became especially important during COVID to ensure students kept pace with learning.

At a time when higher education institutions across the country mark the culmination of studies for their graduating seniors, most students will testify that they “could not have done it” without the intellectual guidance, mentoring and moral support of specific faculty members who challenged and encouraged them along the way.

In truth, teaching excellence doesn’t organically occur. It requires the intentional and ongoing investment of time and training to ensure that complex concepts delivered will convey to students on the receiving end — whether in person or online.

This May, 22 UT Health San Antonio faculty and staff spanning academic programs from all five schools successfully earned a microcredential certificate after completing a six-course series on the topic of “Promoting Active Learning Online.”

The opportunity to participate in this online faculty development program, offered through the Association of College and University Educators (ACUE), was made possible by The University Texas System in support of efforts to enhance the skills of faculty to actively engage students in online learning environments.

“This is a point of pride for our institution to have so many successful members in this program. I know the information from the ACUE program will be helpful and practical,” said William L. Henrich, MD, MACP, UT Health San Antonio president and professor of medicine.

In fact, many of the strategies and tactics taught in these courses are translatable to diverse in-person learning environments as well, noted Jacqueline Mok, PhD, UT Health San Antonio vice president for academic, faculty and student affairs. “The participation of my colleagues in our ACUE cohort clearly demonstrates their commitment to recognizing that teaching spans our entire institution, from the didactic classroom to research laboratories to clinical settings. Their dedication to continuous improvement is inspirational.”


Congratulations to the inaugural ACUE cohort:

Ms. Rebecca Ajtai, Briscoe Library

Dr. Jack Badawy, Department of Medicine

Dr. Maria Andrea Bordoy Soto, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Dr. Sylvia Botros-Brey, Department of Urology

Prof. Julie Brannon, Department of Emergency Health Sciences

Prof. Virginia Carrillo, Department of Periodontics, Dental Hygiene Program

Dr. Lea El Hachem, Department of Periodontics

Dr. Dana English, Dean’s Office, School of Dentistry

Dr. Christopher Frei, Pharmacotherapy Education and Research Center

Ms. Christine Gaspard, Briscoe Library

Dr. Gretchel Gealogo Brown, School of Nursing

Dr. Jessica Hernandez, Office of Undergraduate Medical Education

Dr. Leslie P. Hernandez, Department of Emergency Health Sciences

Dr. Venessa Kodosky, Dean’s Office, School of Health Professions

Dr. Mei-Ling Lin, Department of Occupational Therapy

Ms. Emme Lopez, Briscoe Library

Dr. Sara Mithani, School of Nursing

Dr. Juliana Robledo, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Dr. Deanna Savo, School of Nursing

Dr. Ramaswamy Sharma, Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy

Dr. Tiffany Tavares, Department of Comprehensive Dentistry

Dr. P. Renee Yew, Department of Molecular Medicine


Share This Article!