Brey named chairwoman of neurology, Dielmann Chair

SAN ANTONIO (June 15, 2009) — Robin L. Brey, M.D., is the new chairwoman of the Department of Neurology at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Dr. Brey also was named to the Edna Smith Dielmann Distinguished University Chair, Glenn Halff, M.D., acting dean of the Health Science Center School of Medicine, announced.

A professor of neurology, Dr. Brey sees patients of UT Medicine San Antonio, the multispecialty practice of School of Medicine physicians. She also treats patients at the South Texas Veterans Health Care System, Audie Murphy Division.

Dr. Brey is known for studies of the relationship between stroke and a set of proteins called antiphospholipid antibodies. These antibodies hinder the normal function of blood vessels, resulting in anomalies such as thromboses (blood clots).

Dr. Brey also has helped document the neuropsychiatric manifestations of Systemic Lupus Erythematosus. Commonly known as lupus, this is a chronic disease in which the body’s immune system goes on the offensive against its own tissues and organs. Antiphospholipid antibodies play a key role in lupus.

Dr. Brey actively serves her profession. She was a member of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) Board of Directors from 2003 to 2007, and is editor-in-chief of Neurology Now, the AAN publication for neurology patients, their families and the lay public.

“Dr. Robin Brey is an exemplary and compassionate physician and researcher,” Dr. Halff said. “It is a pleasure to announce her appointment to lead the Health Science Center’s initiatives in the field of neurology and to occupy an endowed chair.”

The Department of Neurology encompasses many initiatives, including:

• The South Texas Comprehensive Epilepsy Center, a Level IV epilepsy program accredited by the National Association of Epilepsy Centers;
• A stroke and cerebrovascular disorders program that conducts clinical research studies geared toward stroke prevention and treatment;
• A neuromuscular disorders program that conducts clinical research studies in a variety of neuromuscular diseases, including muscular dystrophy, Lou Gehrig’s disease, myasthenia gravis and peripheral neuropathy.

Dr. Brey received her M.D. from the University of Arizona in 1981 and her residency in neurology from Oregon Health and Science University in 1985. From 1985 to 1989, she was a staff neurologist in the U.S. Air Force at Wilford Hall Medical Center in San Antonio.

She joined the Health Science Center faculty in 1989.

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is the leading research institution in South Texas and one of the major health sciences universities in the world. With an operating budget of $668 million, the Health Science Center is the chief catalyst for the $16.3 billion biosciences and health care sector in San Antonio’s economy. The Health Science Center has had an estimated $36 billion impact on the region since inception and has expanded to six campuses in San Antonio, Laredo, Harlingen and Edinburg. More than 25,600 graduates (physicians, dentists, nurses, scientists and other health professionals) serve in their fields, including many in Texas. Health Science Center faculty are international leaders in cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, aging, stroke prevention, kidney disease, orthopaedics, research imaging, transplant surgery, psychiatry and clinical neurosciences, pain management, genetics, nursing, dentistry and many other fields. For more information, visit

Share This Article!