Business Journal honors four from UT Health as Health Care Heroes

Four UT Health San Antonio faculty members have been honored as Health Care Heroes by the San Antonio Business Journal. The annual awards recognize outstanding achievements by people in the local health care industry. In all, 21 members of the health care community were recognized across eight categories.

John Rugh, Ph.D.
Kevin J. Donly, D.D.S., M.S.

Winners in the Education category were Kevin J. Donly, D.D.S., M.S., professor and chair of the Department of Developmental Dentistry, and John Rugh, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Developmental Dentistry.

Dr. Donly is a diplomate of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry and past president  of the American Society of Dentistry for Children. He has published more than 250 chapters, manuscripts and abstracts associated with pediatric dentistry and dental restorative materials research and clinical utilization.

Dr. Rugh has 30 years of clinical research experience and was director of research for the School of Dentistry from 1991 to 1997. His current current research interest is in science transfer and diffusion of innovation.

Kristen Plastino, M.D.

Kristen Plastino, M.D., professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, was selected in the Outstanding Physician/Hospital-Based category. Dr. Plastino is director of UT Teen Health, a highly successful initiative that promotes healthy choices for adolescents. Teen birth rates have continued to drop in Bexar County due to her efforts.

C. J. Winckler, M.D.

Winning in the category of Outstanding Physician/Non-Hospital-Based was C.J. Winckler, M.D., assistant professor/clinical in the Department of Emergency Health Sciences. Dr. Winckler is deputy medical director for the San Antonio Fire Department and has been actively involved in the effort to implement the use of whole blood in medical response helicopters, ambulances and other medical emergencies across South Texas.

Others associated with UT Health San Antonio receiving Health Care Heroes include Suzette Tardiff, Ph.D., who worked at the Barshop Institute for several years, is now at Texas Biomed and is adjunct faculty in the Department of Cells Systems and Anatomy. She won in the Outstanding Medical Researcher category.

Also, John Browning, M.D., who was on our faculty for a few years and now has a private practice. He won in the Outstanding Physician Nonhospital-based category.

Another, Peter Nielsen, M.D., received his medical degree here and is chief obstetrician at Children’s Hospital of San Antonio. He won in the Outstanding Physician Hospital-based category.

This year’s class of Health Care Heroes were honored at an awards ceremony at the Pearl Stable on May 23.

Share This Article!