Carlayne Jackson, MD, named chair of neurology in Long School of Medicine

photo of physician with a tablet

Contact: Will Sansom, (210) 567-2579,

SAN ANTONIO (Sept. 23, 2022) — Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, a specialist in the treatment and research of neuromuscular disorders such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS, Lou Gehrig’s disease), has been appointed chair of the Department of Neurology in the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Robert A. Hromas, MD, professor and dean of the Long School of Medicine, announced the appointment, which is effective immediately.

Photo of Carlayne E. Jackson, MD
Carlayne Jackson, MD

Jackson earned her medical degree at UT Health Science Center San Antonio in 1987 and subsequently completed residency training in neurology and a clinical fellowship in neurophysiology. She is a graduate of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) program at Drexel University College of Medicine.

Jackson has created research programs and clinics recognized as national Centers of Excellence in neuromuscular treatment. She is medical director for the South Texas ALS Association Center of Excellence and the MDA (Muscular Dystrophy Association)-ALS Research Center. She has participated in more than 60 multicenter clinical trials and conducted research with the Western ALS Study Group, the Northeast ALS Research Group and the Muscle Study Group, contributing to more than 240 publications.

Jackson served as chief medical officer and assistant dean of ambulatory services from 2009 to 2018, vice chair for faculty development and wellness from 2018 to 2022, and interim chair of neurology since April 2022. A longstanding member and Fellow of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN), she is president-elect of the Board of Directors, co-chaired the ALS Measurement Development Panel and co-authored the ALS Practice Parameters. Dr. Jackson was awarded the AAN Leading in Excellence Mentorship Award in 2017.

“Dr. Jackson has an exciting vision for advancing neurology throughout San Antonio and South Texas,” Hromas said in a campus announcement of her appointment.

She is married to Penn Jackson Jr., DDS, a faculty member in the UT Health Science Center Antonio School of Dentistry for the past 14 years.

Also see: Oral pill slows rate of decline in ALS patients, Sept. 8, 2020

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UT Health San Antonio), a primary driver for San Antonio’s $42.4 billion health care and biosciences sector, is the largest research university in South Texas with an annual research portfolio of $350 million. Driving substantial economic impact with its five professional schools, a diverse workforce of more than 7,000, an annual operating budget of more than $1 billion and a clinical practice that provides more than 2 million patient visits each year, UT Health San Antonio plans to add more than 1,500 higher-wage jobs over the next five years to serve San Antonio, Bexar County and South Texas. To learn about the many ways “We make lives better®,” visit

Stay connected with The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio on FacebookTwitterLinkedInInstagram and YouTube.

Share This Article!