Congratulations to the 2019 Presidential Award winners

UT Health San Antonio President William L. Henrich, M.D., MACP, announced the 2019 Presidential Award winners Jan. 15. The recipients will be honored with a plaque and cash award at a special dinner on March 7.

Established in 1985, the Presidential Awards recognize exemplary performance by individuals who consistently excel in their positions and demonstrate a strong commitment to the mission and core values of UT Health San Antonio.

The winners include:

Distinguished Senior Research Scholar

James D. Stockand, Ph.D., FAHA, FAPS, FASN, professor, Department of Cellular and Integrative Physiology, Long School of Medicine

Junior Research Scholars

Bess Frost, Ph.D., assistant professor, Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy, Long School of Medicine

Michael A. Liss, M.D., M.A.S., FACS, associate professor, Department of Urology, Long School of Medicine

Clinical Excellence

Glenn A. Halff, M.D., professor, Department of Surgery, Long School of Medicine

Teaching Excellence – Sustained

Bennett T. Amaechi, Ph.D., M.S., B.D.S., MFDSRCPS, FADI, professor, Department of Comprehensive Dentistry, School of Dentistry

Ricky Joseph, Ph.D., M.A.-H.R.M., OTR, assistant professor, Department of Occupational Therapy, School of Health Professions

Keith A. Krolick, Ph.D., professor/director, Integrated Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program, Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics, Long School of Medicine

Rebekah J. Salt, Ph.D., RN, associate professor, Office of Faculty Excellence, School of Nursing

LuZhe Sun, Ph.D., professor, Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy, Long School of Medicine

Teaching Excellence – Emerging

Ameet S. Nagpal, M.D., M.S., M.Ed., associate professor, Department of Anesthesiology, Long School of Medicine

Ramaswamy Sharma, Ph.D., assistant professor, Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy, Long School of Medicine

Employee Excellence

Charlotte Anthony, M.A., marketing specialist – senior, Office of the Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Antoinette R. Brundige, M.A., manager, Research Operations, Department of Psychiatry, Long School of Medicine

Karina Patino-Guzman, financial analyst, Office of the Vice President for Research

John Turner, M.Ed., director of Business Operations, Office of the Dean, School of Nursing

Stephanie M. Valdez, academic program coordinator, Department of Pediatrics, Long School of Medicine

Mia Veve, Ph.D., director of Student Counseling Center, Division of Academic, Faculty and Student Affairs

Team Excellence  

MARC Radiology, Long School of Medicine

Angel Gomez-Cintron, M.D., MARC Radiology Director

Mary Lou Jew, M.S., B.S., RT, Director, Radiology Services

Elizabeth Acosta, Scheduler Intermediate

Rosalyn F. Alli, Medical Office Receptionist

Carlo Ernesto A. Angeles, PET Technologist

Elena Balderaz, Benefit Coordinator

James L. Baxley, MRI Technologist Senior

Lamar E. Callier, CT Technologist

Tameka Collins, Ultrasound Technologist Senior

Gilbert Cortez, MRI Technologist

Edelia F. De La Cerda, MRI Technologist

Michael A. Escobedo, Radiologic Technologist Senior

Rudy C. Flores, Benefit Coordinator

Wendy M. Flores, Medical Office Receptionist Intermediate

Jennifer L. Garcia, Medical Office Receptionist Lead

Laura A. Garcia, Benefit Coordinator

Yvette Garza, Radiologic Technologist Lead

Christine L. Gonzales, Medical Office Receptionist

Victoria G. Huerta, Patient Transporter Senior

James G. Johnson, PET Technologist

Alvera Juarez, Benefit Coordinator Lead

Sierra Lee, Medical Office Receptionist Intermediate

Erica L. Loza, Scheduler Intermediate

Alicia Martinez, Registered Nurse

Claudia M. McLeish, Benefit Coordinator

Desiderio Medina, MRI Technologist

Christopher J. Page, Radiologic Technologist Senior

Linnette A. Pape, CT Technologist

Hillery L. Ramirez, Scheduler Intermediate

Lieyette Saunders, Patient Services Coordinator

Emily Tarin, Manager

Ana L. Vargas-Gonzales, CT Technologist

Rodolfo R. Vasquez, Radiologic Technologist Senior

Carolyn K. Williams, Benefit Coordinator

Yvette M. Wimberley, Radiologic Technologist Senior

Willie I. Yglesias, MRI Technologist


Share This Article!