Congratulations to the 2022 Presidential Awards recipients

Every day, our employees work tirelessly to advance our missions of education, research, clinical care and community service. Established in 1985, the Presidential Excellence Awards recognize exemplary performance by individuals who consistently excel in their positions and demonstrate a strong commitment to the mission and core values of UT Health San Antonio. The annual awards provide the university the opportunity to recognize outstanding faculty and staff contributions.

Many deserving faculty and staff were nominated to be honored with a Presidential Excellence Award for demonstrating exceptional service in their respective fields. I am grateful to the selection committees, led by Jacqueline Mok, PhD, vice president for academic, faculty and student affairs, and Danielle McDavid, PHR, human resources generalist, in the Office of Human Resources, for their careful review of those nominated and their selection of the following awardees.

Please join me in congratulating our 2022 Presidential Excellence Award recipients who will be honored with a plaque and cash award during an April awards dinner.

Distinguished Research Scholar

Nicolas Musi, MD, Professor and Director of the Sam and Ann Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies, Division of Diabetes, Department of Medicine, Long School of Medicine

Distinguished Service to the Institution

Paul B. Allen, Sr., DSc, MPAS, PA-C, Chair, Department of Physician Assistant Studies, School of Health Professions

Clinical Excellence

Daniel E. Perez, DDS, MS, FACS, Associate Professor and Program Director, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, School of Dentistry

Anand Prasad, MD, FACC, FSCAI, RPVI, Professor, Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine, Long School of Medicine

Teaching Excellence – Emerging

Sylvia Botros-Brey, MD, MSCI, Associate Professor/Clinical, Department of Urology, Medical Education and Obstetrics and Gynecology, Long School of Medicine

Gretchel Gealogo Brown, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor, Office for Faculty Excellence, School of Nursing

Rekha Kar, PhD, Associate Professor/Clinical, Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy, Long School of Medicine

Robert Nathanson, MD, FACP, Associate Professor/Clinical, Division of Hospital Medicine, Department of Medicine, Long School of Medicine

Teaching Excellence – Sustained

Jon Courand, MD, FAAP, Professor and Vice Chair for Pediatrics, Graduate Medical Education, Long School of Medicine

Erin Nelson, MD, Professor and Vice Chair for Education, Department Obstetrics and Gynecology, Long School of Medicine

Achint K. Singh, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Radiology, Long School of Medicine

Employee Excellence

Cheryl Banks, CPA, Department Administrator, Department of Pharmacology, Long School of Medicine

Eva Garcia-Rodriguez, Research Coordinator-Senior, Mays Cancer Center/Office of Education, Long School of Medicine

Sarah Lill, MA, Manager, Research Operations, Center for Research to Advance Community Health, Long School of Medicine

Mari Martinez, MPA, CPRA, Manager, Grants and Contracts, Office of Sponsored Programs

Jason Sandlin, Distributed Education Coordinator, Office of the Dental Dean, School of Dentistry

Team Excellence

Winter Storm Uri SNOVID-21 Response Team, Facilities Management

Team Leader: Raymundo Rivera, MS, MBA, PE, CxA, Executive Director, Engineer and Construction Management, Department of Facilities Management

Team Members:
Adam Arce, Utilities Operations-Senior, Department of Facilities Management
David Brahm, MS, Manager of Landscape and Grounds, Department of Facilities Management
Jeff Davidson, CEM, Manager of Energy Plants, Department of Facilities Management
Jennifer Johnson, AIA, PMP, CEFP, OSHA 30, Manager of Maintenance, Department of Facilities Management
Joe Lara, Maintenance Mechanic Lead, Department of Facilities Management
David Ortiz, MBA, Assistant Director of Financial Operations, Office of Financial Services
Jeff Patterson, Manager of Construction, Department of Facilities Management
Alfred Vitela, PE, LEED AP, Mechanical Engineer-Senior, Department of Facilities Management
David West, Manager of Utilities, Department of Facilities Management


William L. Henrich, MD, MACP

President and Professor of Medicine
John P. Howe, III, M.D., Distinguished Chair in Health Policy

Share This Article!