Dr. Andrews, chair of anesthesiology, to retire

J. Jeffrey Andrews, M.D.

J. Jeffrey Andrews, M.D., chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology, will step down from that role on June 30 and retire from the UT System on Aug. 3 with 27 years of service.

The announcement was made by Robert Hromas, M.D., FACP, dean of the Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine.

Dr. Hromas praised Dr. Andrews’ leadership of the department for the past 11 years, noting that the anesthesiology clinical enterprise doubled in size while the residency training program has prospered and grown substantially to 64 residents, six pain medicine fellows and two critical care medicine fellows.

Dr. Hromas also announced that Steven G. Venticinque, M.D., will serve as interim chair for the Department of Anesthesiology, effective July 1.


Share This Article!