Dr. Kalkwarf elected president of retired faculty association

Kenneth L. Kalkwarf, D.D.S., M.S., was elected president of the Association of Retired Faculty and Associates (ARFA) on Dec. 12 during its annual meeting at Club Giraud. Dr. Kalkwarf retired as dean of the School of Dentistry in 2012 after 24 years in the position. He also served as interim president of the university from 2012-13.

He succeeds W. Frank Elston, former vice president of university relations, who served as president the past two years.

Kalkwarf is the 15th president of ARFA, which was founded in 1995 to bring faculty and professional staff together to keep members informed of campus activities and to participate in social and health care educational activities. Dr. Harry Martin was the first ARFA president.

Dr. Shirlyn McKenzie was elected to a two-year term as vice president/president elect, and Dr. Brenda Jackson will be the association’s Secretary-Treasurer. The 2020 ARFA Executive Board includes the officers plus Dr. Hasi Venkatachalam, Dr. Gale Haradon, Dr. Stephen Shanfield, and new board members Dr. Chuck Hermesch, Rudy Gomez and Rajia Tobia.

One of the primary activities of the association is to award a scholarship each year, on a rotating basis, to an academically outstanding student from each of the five UT Health San Antonio schools. The recipient is selected by the school. This year, a $2,000 scholarship was given to Chibulke Ofeogbuna, a second year medical school student. Since the first scholarship of $500 was awarded to a medical student in 2009, 12 more students from all five schools have been awarded grants totaling $11,795.

Persons eligible for ARFA membership are retired faculty, administrative and professional personnel with five or more years of full-time employment. Spouses, widows and widowers of members are entitled to full membership. Annual dues are $20.

Employees who are anticipating retirement can receive ARFA information and an application from Human Resources or Cindi Adcock, Office of the President, adcockc@uthscsa.edu / 210-567-2003.

Share This Article!