Dr. Kumar named Family Physician of the Year

KA Kumar, M.D.
KA Kumar, M.D.

Kaparaboyna Ashok Kumar, M.D., FRCS, FAAFP, professor of family and community medicine, has been awarded the highest honor among Texas family doctors by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians. He was named Physician of the Year during the organization’s 2016 Annual Session Primary Care Summit, in Dallas on Nov. 5.

“As a family doctor, I am really proud to be in front of you and receiving this award,” Dr. Kumar said. “When I see all these wonderful doctors in the audience, I am really humbled and honored to receive this award as Family Physician of the Year.”

Originally from India, Dr. Kumar earned his medical degree from, Osmania Medical College, Hyderabad, India. After completing an internship at Osmania General Hospital, Hyderabad, India, he went on to complete a general surgery residency at Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. He would later immigrate to the United States and complete an additional residency in family medicine at UT Health Northeast in Tyler.

Dr. Kumar has served as president of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians, is the current chair of the health care committee of the San Antonio Mayor’s Fitness Council, and is a member of the Mayor’s Executive Committee.

Criteria for the TAFP Physician of the Year award requires that candidates be compassionately dedicated to their patients; active in their communities; and act as a credible, invaluable role model as a professional in the science and art of medicine.

Dr. Kumar is a practicing physician at UT Medicine Primary Care.

Share This Article!