Dr. Singh receives UT System’s Translational STARs award

Brij B. Singh, Ph.D.

Brij B. Singh, Ph.D., associate dean for research in the School of Dentistry and professor of periodontics, has received a Translational STARs Award from the UT System. The award comes with a $500,000 grant.

His research background integrates multiple fields of basic and translational sciences that span from biochemical and physiological regulations in salivary gland cells to oral cancer.

Dr. Singh said he was honored to receive the award. “I want to express my appreciation to the UT System as well as the administration here at UT Health San Antonio for this vote of confidence,” he said. “Oral health is such an important component of general health and quality of life. Honors such as the Translational STARs Award will certainly advance the crucial research in many areas of oral disease.”

As associate dean for research, Dr. Singh is responsible for the School of Dentistry’s research goals, including contributing to the broad body of basic and applied knowledge related to oral health, including emphasis on the needs of South Texas and disseminating that knowledge; providing opportunities for students and faculty to develop the skills necessary for conducting independent research programs; and developing a national and international leadership role in oral health related research.

Dr. Singh earned his Ph.D. in biochemistry from Bhopal University in India and the University of Bonn in Germany. He was awarded a DAAD fellowship to carry out his Ph.D. research in Germany. He earned his Master of Science in biotechnology and his Bachelor of Science in biology with minor in chemistry from Aligarh University in India.

The UT System Board of Regents authorized the Science and Technology Acquisition and Retention (STARs) program in 2004. Multiple types of STARs awards support enhancement of UT institutions across the state. Translational STARs awards are for the recruitment and retention of nationally recognized leaders in translational and clinical sciences.

Dr. Singh’s Translational STARs award is the fifth for UT Health San Antonio since the award category was established in 2012. Other Translational STARs recipients are Sudha Seshadri, M.D., founding director of the Glenn Biggs Institute for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Diseases, in 2018; Kumar Sharma, M.D., professor and chief of nephrology, in 2017; Peter Houghton, Ph.D., professor of molecular medicine and director of the Greehey Children’s Cancer Research Institute, 2015; and Tim Huang, Ph.D., professor and chair of molecular medicine, 2012,


Share This Article!