Elston elected head of retired faculty and associates group

W. Frank Elston, who joined the Health Science Center in 1989 as its first vice president of university relations, was recently elected president of the Association of Retired Faculty and Associates (ARFA).

He succeeds Dr. Patty L. Hawken, dean and professor emeritus of the School of Nursing, who served as president the past two years.

Elston is the 14th president of ARFA, which was founded in 1995 to bring faculty and professional staff together to keep members informed of campus activities and to participate in social and health care educational activities.  Dr. Harry Martin was the first ARFA president.

Also at the recent meeting, Dr. Gale Haradon from the School of Health Professions and Dr. Brenda Jackson from the School of Nursing were appointed to the ARFA board. Others continuing to serve on the board are: president-elect Dr. Kenneth Kalkwarf, secretary-treasurer Dr. Shirlyn McKenzie, and Dr. Herbert Brown, Dr. Alberto Serrano, Dr. Hasi Venkatachalam, Dr. Stephen Shanfield and Dr. Elliot Weser.

One of the primary activities of the association is to award a scholarship each year, on a rotating basis, to an academically outstanding student from each of the UT Health San Antonio schools. The recipient is selected by the school. In 2017, a $2,000 scholarship was given to Jacqueline Zubick from the School of Dentistry. Since the first scholarship of $500 was awarded to a medical student in 2009, 11 more students from all five schools have been awarded grants totaling $9,795.

Persons eligible for ARFA membership are retired faculty, administrative and professional personnel with five or more years of full-time employment. Spouses, widows and widowers of members are entitled to full membership. Annual dues are $20.

Employees who are anticipating retirement can receive ARFA information and an application from Human Resources.

Share This Article!