Faculty member appointed to Texas Radiation Advisory Board

Darlene Metter, M.D.

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has reaapointed Darlene Metter, M.D., professor of radiology and family and community medicine in the Department of Radiology, to the Texas Radiation Advisory Board. The board advises the state on radiation issues and reviews the rules, policies and programs of state agencies that regulate radiation.

Dr. Metter, a diagnostic radiologist whose subspecialty is nuclear medicine, is chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s Advisory Committee on the Medical Uses of Isotopes, president of the Texas Radiological Society, past president of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Southwestern Chapter, and past president of the Academic Council of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging.

Additionally, she is a Fellow of the American College of Radiology, a member of the Bexar County Medical Society, and a member of the Radiological Society of North America. She serves as an advisor to the Asian Pacific American Medical Student Association.

Share This Article!