Faculty member named Macy scholar

2016 Awards
Temple Ratcliffe, M.D., FACP
Temple Ratcliffe, M.D., FACP

Temple Ratcliffe, M.D., FACP, assistant professor/clinical and co-director of the Internal Medicine Clerkship at the Health Science Center School of Medicine, has been named a Macy Faculty Scholar.

As a Macy Faculty Scholar, Dr. Ratcliffe will receive salary support over two years to implement a patient-partnered, collaborative, interprofessional care model that immerses learners in an authentic team-based clinical experience. Specifically, Dr. Ratcliffe is developing orientation materials, curricula and assessment tools to foster positive learner experiences.

Dr. Ratcliffe is an internist who has been engaged in health professions education for the past decade. Previously he served as both associate Internal medicine clerkship director for the Uniformed Services University and associate program director for the San Antonio Uniformed Services Healthcare Consortium’s Internal Medicine residency.

“Macy Faculty Scholars represent the future of education, and Dr. Ratcliffe’s immersive learning initiative is an example of the educational change we need to meet the public’s changing health care needs,” said Dr. George Thibault, president of the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation.

Since 1930, the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation has worked to improve health care in the United States. Founded by Kate Macy Ladd in memory of her father, prominent businessman Josiah Macy Jr., the foundation supports projects that broaden and improve health professional education. It is now the only national foundation solely dedicated to this mission. Visit the Macy Foundation at www.macyfoundation.org.

Share This Article!