Faculty members honored by Texas Diabetes Institute

2016 Awards

Two Health Science Center faculty members will be inducted in the University Health System Texas Diabetes Institute’s Wall of Honor on July 20.

Carlos A. Rosende, M.D.
Carlos A. Rosende, M.D.

Carlos A. Rosende, M.D., FACS, and Eugenio Cersosimo, M.D., Ph.D., both long associated with the Texas Diabetes Institute, are the inductees.

Dr. Rosende, vice dean for clinical affairs and executive director of UT Medicine San Antonio, was a critical partner in designing, building and serving as the inaugural director of the Texas Diabetes Ophthalmology Clinic. His service has been recognized by receiving the Texas Diabetes Institute Physician of the Year Award.

Eugenio Cersosimo, M.D., Ph.D.
Eugenio Cersosimo, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Cersosimo joined the Health Science Center in 2001 as medical director of the Clinical Research Center at the diabetes institute. He has promoted and supported numerous clinical investigations, and has received numerous awards and recognition for his academic and clinical endeavors.

At the induction ceremony, world-renowned diabetes researcher Ralph DeFronzo, M.D., Texas Diabetes Institute deputy director and chief of the Division of Diabetes at the Health Science Center, will provide an update on the latest breakthroughs in diabetes research.

Share This Article!
Article Categories: Community, On Campus

Recent News