HSC fares well in Shine Academy conference

2016 Awards

The Health Science Center was well represented with more than 20 poster presentations and sessions at the 2016 Innovations in Health Science Education Annual Conference held in Austin Feb. 18-19. The conference is a part of the University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D., Academy of Health Science Education.

The annual conference is sponsored by the six health science campuses within The University of Texas System.

Sandra Adams, M.D., received the Innovation Award for “The Interprofessional Web-based Interactive Professional Education in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (WipeCOPD) Education Program Facilitates Actual Behavioral Changes in Primary Care Clinics.”

Dr. Adams is professor and Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Pulmonary Disease & Critical Care Medicine.

Dr. Adams has developed Web-based interactive professional education tools used to educate health care professionals—including students and practicing clinicians—about best practices in the prevention, evaluation and treatment of obstructive lung diseases.

In Poster Awards, first place went to Sandra G. Adams; Erika Bowen, Mary K. Hart, Leticia Zuniga Bresnahan, and Jan Patterson. “Web-based, Interactive Professional Education in COPD (WipeCOPD™) Facilitates Primary Care Practice Changes.”

Tied for second in Poster Awards were:

William Hendricson; Mai Luk; Elena Riccio; Ellis Shwarts; Alexander Ling; Jaclyn Vu; Earlanda Williams; Rita Parma; Kevin Gureckis; David Cappelli; Magda De La Torre; and Joseph Connor. “Does a Teaching Honors Program in a Dental School Influence Alumni to Pursue Academic Careers?”
Christopher Moreland; Todd Agan; Kristy Kosub; and Diane Ferguson. “Improving Patient-Provider Communication: Training in the Use of Professional Interpretation Services.”

Share This Article!