Inductees named for Gold Humanism Honor Society

The Marvin Forland, M.D., Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society at UT Health San Antonio has announced its Class of 2018.

Through the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, the honor society promotes humanism as the core of health care. The society recognizes students, residents and faculty who are exemplars of compassionate patient care and who serve as role models, mentors, and leaders in medicine. Members at UT Health are usually third- and fourth-year medical students.

2018 inductees include Shaadi Abughazaleh, Fadi Al-Asadi, Eden Bernstein, Jordan Buckley, Tanner Campbell, Josh Chapman, Seth Cope, Ann Ding, Filip Drambarean, Brian Duffy, Chelsea Duffy, Tyler Freeman, Natalia Garza, Jaime Raul Guerrero and Mazen Hassan.

Also, Allen Hollingsworth, Jason John, Harriet King, Mason Krysinski, Diana Labrada, Caitlin Morgan, John Philip Palmer, Emma Sims, Christopher Smith, Camille Spears, Austin Sweat, Zachary Tran, Jayme Trevino, Olivia Thornton and Luke Wallis.

The induction ceremony will be held in March.

The UT Health San Antonio chapter is named for emeritus professor Marvin Forland, M.D., a founding faculty member. He was instrumental in the creation and development of the Center for Medical Humanities & Ethics (CMHE), which teaches ethics and professionalism while nurturing empathy and humanitarian values, and which oversees the Gold Humanism Honor Society. Though retired, Dr. Forland continues to work each day at the CMHE.

Share This Article!