Jacqueline McGrath, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN receives UT Health San Antonio Administrative Leadership Award

Star trophy with blue background.

Jacqueline McGrath, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN was nominated and selected by the UT Health San Antonio Faculty Senate as recipient of the 2022-2023 academic year Administrative Leadership Award. The award is given annually to a senior member of the administration for the purpose of providing recognition and a vote of confidence for their outstanding, long-term contributions that promote and support the missions and well-being of faculty.

Jacqueline M. McGrath, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN.

The Faculty Senate provides representation for university faculty to ensure that every faculty member has a voice regarding issues that may affect their rights, privileges, responsibilities and welfare regarding teaching, research and clinical programs and services at UT Health San Antonio.

Nominated by School of Nursing Professor Kyungeh An, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN, the award was presented to McGrath in September after voting indicated an overwhelming majority in her favor.

Nominees for the Administrative Leadership Award are evaluated on their contributions, emphasizing leadership and management skills that have supported other faculty members. These contributions may involve:

  • Enhanced teaching, service and/or research environments so faculty members can more effectively achieve their goals.
  • Enhanced faculty development and welfare.
  • Enhanced faculty governance.
  • Significant contributions as liaison with university faculty resulting in improved communication, transparency and understanding, that lead to strengthened administration-faculty partnerships that result in greater faculty effectiveness and efficiency in achieving their missions.

Among McGrath’s highlighted contributions were:

  • Her leadership style and ability to optimize faculty strengths.
  • Her ability to develop new and improved processes.
  • Her development of partnerships, understanding and collaboration across members of the institution.
  • Her dedication to providing resources and opportunities for faculty.
  • Her development of a School of Nursing faculty mentoring program.

McGrath is the Thelma and Joe Crowe Endowed Professor and vice dean for faculty excellence in the School of Nursing. All faculty in the school of nursing are supported by the Office of Faculty Excellence. In this role, she provides leadership to move every faculty member forward in academic scholarly excellence.

Share This Article!