Jaén named chair-elect of American Board of Family Medicine

SAN ANTONIO (May 8, 2013) — Carlos Roberto Jaén, M.D., Ph.D., of the School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio, has been named chair-elect of the American Board of Family Medicine, the board that certifies the nation’s family physicians. His election was announced May 7. Dr. Jaén will chair the board for one year starting in 2014.

Dr. Jaén is chairman of the Department of Family and Community Medicine in the School of Medicine and sees patients of UT Medicine San Antonio, the School of Medicine’s clinical practice. He previously was co-director of the Center for Research in Family Medicine and Primary Care and served as chair of the Research Development Committee of the Association of Departments of Family Medicine. He is an adjunct professor at The University of Texas School of Public Health, San Antonio Regional Campus, and a scholar at the Research to Advance Community Health (ReACH) Center.

Dr. Jaén occupies the Dr. and Mrs. James L. Holly Distinguished Professorship in the Patient-Centered Medical Home, and is a professor of epidemiology and biostatistics in the School of Medicine.

The American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) is one of the twenty-four member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties. Founded in 1969, it is a voluntary, not-for-profit, private organization whose objective is to encourage excellence in medical care. The board believes that its certified family physicians have successfully demonstrated their ability and have proven their commitment to the public, the specialty of family medicine and the profession.


The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, one of the country’s leading health sciences universities, ranks in the top 3 percent of all institutions worldwide receiving National Institutes of Health funding. The university’s schools of medicine, nursing, dentistry, health professions and graduate biomedical sciences have produced approximately 28,000 graduates. The $736 million operating budget supports eight campuses in San Antonio, Laredo, Harlingen and Edinburg. For more information on the many ways “We make lives better®,” visit www.uthscsa.edu.

Share This Article!