Jan. 29 ceremony honors 24 faculty, staff for excellence

WHAT: The 2009 Presidential Awards Ceremony, an annual celebration of excellence at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

WHEN: 11 a.m., Thursday, Jan. 29

WHERE: Auditorium, UT Health Science Center, Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long Campus,
7703 Floyd Curl Drive

WHO: William L. Henrich, M.D., MACP, dean of the School of Medicine and vice president for medical affairs who will become interim president Feb. 2, will present awards to 24 individuals. The highest honor, the Presidential Distinguished Scholar Award, will be given to Peter T. Fox, M.D., radiology, a world-renowned imaging researcher.

Recipients: Presidential Junior Research Scholar: Nicolas Musi, M.D., Medicine/Diabetes; Clinical Excellence Award: Alicia G. Galvan, D.D.S., General Dentistry; Karen Hentschel-Franks, D.O., Pediatrics; David F. Jimenez, M.D., FACS, Neurosurgery; Teaching Excellence Award: Robert Castro, M.D., Pediatrics; Taline Dadian Infante, RDH, Dental Hygiene; Rebecca Loredo-Hernandez, M.D., Radiology; Catherine Ortega, Ed.D., PT, ATC, Physical Therapy; Fred Richards III, Ph.D., Cellular and Structural Biology; Frank Weaker, Ph.D., Cellular and Structural Biology; Employee Excellence in Service Award: Linda Ancira, Biochemistry; Beverly Heisler, Cellular and Structural Biology; Darleen Loftice, Pediatrics; Jude A. Lynch, Library; Lester Rosebrock, Academic Technology Services; Presidential Volunteer Service Award: Gold — Cynthia Ideker-Sowle, Obstetrics and Gynecology; Silver — Alice Allen, Regulatory Affairs/Compliance; Bronze — James Lukose, student, School of Nursing; Presidential Ambassador Scholar: Rosemary Ojo, School of Medicine; Shalaine Smith, School of Nursing; Cecily Jackson, Dental School; Jacob Garza, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; Natalie Ramirez, School of Health Professions.

NOTES: A reception will immediately follow the program in the auditorium foyer. The program usually lasts 60 to 75 minutes. Award winners will be available for interviews at the reception.

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is the leading research institution in South Texas and one of the major health sciences universities in the world. With an operating budget of $668 million, the Health Science Center is the chief catalyst for the $16.3 billion biosciences and health care sector in San Antonio’s economy. The Health Science Center has had an estimated $36 billion impact on the region since inception and has expanded to six campuses in San Antonio, Laredo, Harlingen and Edinburg. More than 25,600 graduates (physicians, dentists, nurses, scientists and other health professionals) serve in their fields, including many in Texas. Health Science Center faculty are international leaders in cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, aging, stroke prevention, kidney disease, orthopaedics, research imaging, transplant surgery, psychiatry and clinical neurosciences, pain management, genetics, nursing, dentistry and many other fields. For more information, visit www.uthscsa.edu.

Share This Article!