Leaders to break ground on $95 million oral health facility in Medical Center

Groundbreaking ceremony for the Center for Oral Health Care & Research, a $95 million Dental School facility of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

10 a.m. Friday, Oct. 26

Next to UT Medicine San Antonio’s Medical Arts & Research Center, 8300 Floyd Curl Drive

Kenneth L. Kalkwarf, D.D.S., M.S., president ad interim of the UT Health Science Center; William W. Dodge, D.D.S., dean ad interim of the Dental School; Michael Boland, D.D.S., president of the Dental School Alumni Association, who was the first student in the first Dental School class to receive his diploma; Elan Lee, president of the first-year Dental School class; Jim Reed, president of the San Antonio Medical Foundation, which provided the land for the new building

As the participants say “Healthy smiles!” and an earth mover is started, dignitaries will turn the dirt.
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, one of the country’s leading health sciences universities, ranks in the top 3 percent of all institutions worldwide receiving federal funding. Research and other sponsored program activity totaled $231 million in fiscal year 2011. The university’s schools of medicine, nursing, dentistry, health professions and graduate biomedical sciences have produced approximately 28,000 graduates. The $736 million operating budget supports eight campuses in San Antonio, Laredo, Harlingen and Edinburg. For more information on the many ways “We make lives better®,” visit www.uthscsa.edu.

Share This Article!