Long School of Medicine recognizes faculty achievements

The Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine Medical Dean’s office is pleased to recognize faculty members for distinguished achievements in research, research mentoring and clinical practice. Recipients are nominated by their faculty peers and receive an award certificate and $5,000 at the annual Faculty Assembly and Dean’s Townhall. Recipient names will be added to LSOM permanent plaques. This is the inaugural year for the research awards.

The Distinguished Research Award recognizes research accomplishments at Long School of Medicine. This year’s award goes to Jean X. Jiang, Ph.D., the Ashbel Smith Professor of Biochemistry and Structural Biology and co-director of the biomedical engineering graduate program.

“Dr. Jiang has been a prolific contributor to the research mission of [UT Health San Antonio] since she arrived in 1997. However, her recent work, particularly related to her development of unique immunological tools to target the hemichannel functions of gap junctions in a manner that no one else can, has unleashed a marked increase in her publications and funding,” according to her nomination letter.

The Master Research Mentor Award recognizes excellence in research mentoring of individuals at various stages of their academic careers. This year’s inaugural award goes to Jacqueline A. Pugh, M.D., for “making her mentees better versions of themselves, focusing on their trajectories and providing counsel with patience, feedback and encouragement.” Dr. Pugh is a professor in the Department of Medicine.

Master Clinician Awards are given to faculty members who are recognized as ‘the doctor’s doctor’- role model clinicians demonstrating sustained excellence in patient care. This year’s awardees are, Mark Sparkman, M.D., an associate professor of Emergency Medicine and Randal Robinson, M.D., a professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Dr. Sparkman was recognized for being “a highly skilled and compassionate doctor who provides great institutional knowledge to the clinical environment and is an excellent practicing clinician.” He is “guided by the utmost standards of professionalism, compassion for staff and patients, and dedicated to providing … the best.” In addition to his full ED schedule of direct patient care, Dr. Sparkman has served as director of the Emergency Medicine Fellowship Program.

Dr. Robinson, a reproductive endocrinology and infertility specialist, was noted for skillfully “managing the rollercoaster of his patient emotions and navigating them through the treatments with continued hope.” Dr. Robinson, division chief and Frank Harrison Chair in Reproductive Endocrinology, directs the Fellowship Program in Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility. He carries full clinic and surgical schedules weekly, and still takes overnight labor and delivery call on a regular basis.

Congratulations to these outstanding faculty members for their stellar work contributing to their fields, mentoring others and meeting our school’s missions.

Share This Article!