Long School of Medicine recognized by AAMC for community service

M. Roy Wilson, M.D., (left), AAMC chair, presents the finalist award for community service to Dean Robert Hromas, M.D.

The Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine at UT Health San Antonio was recognized as a finalist for the Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Service by the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Chiquita Collins, PhD (from left), Melanie Stone, Robert Hromas, MD, Ruth Berggren, MD, Shelly Evans, Flossy Eddins-Folensbee, MD, Sherese Johnson (AAMC), Scott Jones, MD, and Amelie Ramirez, MD.

The announcement was made during the AAMC’s annual meeting Nov. 2-6 in Austin.

The AAMC noted five areas where the school is addressing community needs through clinical and scholarly means.

  • The School of Medicine was a founding member of the Bexar County Health Collaborative, a community consortium of health-focused organizations.
  • STRONG STAR, based at UT Health San Antonio, is a federally funded network of national experts seeking the best ways to treat behavioral health problems of post-9/11 service members and veterans.
  • UT Teen Health provides reproductive health information and promotes healthy life choices. Since its founding in 2003, San Antonio’s teen birth rate has declined by more than 40 percent.
  • The Center for Medical Humanities and Ethics is a robust center for community service learning as well as home to six free, student-faculty collaborative clinics for vulnerable populations in the community.
  • The School of Medicine has worked to improve the health of Latino children and build a grass-roots network through Salud America! that advocates for policy changes.

At the same meeting, Lois Bready, M.D., professor emeritus in the Department of Anesthesiology, received the Outstanding Service Award from the Group on Resident Affairs. Dr. Bready worked for many years as vice dean for Graduate Medical Education before retiring in 2017.

Share This Article!