Mayes named president and CEO of UT Medicine San Antonio

SAN ANTONIO (May 18, 2009) — Thomas C. Mayes, M.D., M.B.A., chairman of pediatrics at The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio, is the new president and chief executive officer of UT Medicine San Antonio, the multispecialty practice group composed of Health Science Center School of Medicine faculty physicians.

The UT Medicine San Antonio board of directors unanimously approved Dr. Mayes’ appointment, said Glenn Halff, M.D., acting dean of the School of Medicine. Dr. Mayes is overseeing all operations of UT Medicine San Antonio as the School of Medicine prepares to open the Medical Arts and Research Center outpatient clinical practice facility in coming months. This center will provide clinic space and ambulatory surgery suites for many UT Medicine San Antonio physicians, who presently are seeing patients in several locations.

“UT Medicine San Antonio encompasses academic physicians in more than 60 different types of medical specialties and subspecialties,” Dr. Halff said. “As our new practice home comes online, we are lucky to have such an experienced physician help lead our practice.”

Dr. Mayes is board-certified in pediatrics and pediatric critical care medicine. One of the city’s leading pediatricians, he also serves as physician-in-chief of CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital. He is a magna cum laude graduate of Baylor University and a cum laude graduate of the Georgetown University School of Medicine in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Mayes served with distinction in the U.S. Air Force Medical Corps and joined the Health Science Center as a full-time faculty member in 1994. He has been a trusted adviser and counselor to many of the university’s top leaders, and served as interim dean of the School of Medicine in 2005-2006.

This is his second stint as president and CEO of the multispecialty practice group, which he led in 2001-2002 before his appointment as chairman of pediatrics. “Tremendous opportunities and challenges await all of our physicians as we increase our services to the community,” Dr. Mayes said. “This is an exciting time for UT Medicine San Antonio and for all the patients who trust in and benefit from our care.”

Carlayne Jackson, M.D., professor of neurology and assistant dean for ambulatory services in the School of Medicine, is the chief medical officer of UT Medicine San Antonio. Dale Flowers is chief administrative officer. William Allen, senior associate dean for finance, is UT Medicine San Antonio’s chief financial officer.

UT Medicine San Antonio is a unique physician practice because of its academic underpinnings. When they are not seeing patients, many UT Medicine San Antonio physicians are busy teaching medical students, interns, residents and fellows, and conducting research programs.

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is the leading research institution in South Texas and one of the major health sciences universities in the world. With an operating budget of $668 million, the Health Science Center is the chief catalyst for the $16.3 billion biosciences and health care sector in San Antonio’s economy. The Health Science Center has had an estimated $36 billion impact on the region since inception and has expanded to six campuses in San Antonio, Laredo, Harlingen and Edinburg. More than 25,600 graduates (physicians, dentists, nurses, scientists and other health professionals) serve in their fields, including many in Texas. Health Science Center faculty are international leaders in cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, aging, stroke prevention, kidney disease, orthopaedics, research imaging, transplant surgery, psychiatry and clinical neurosciences, pain management, genetics, nursing, dentistry and many other fields. For more information, visit

Share This Article!