National medical diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) event convenes Thursday in San Antonio

Illustration of a seamless pattern of many different people.
Panelists will include Long School of Medicine faculty members, UT Health San Antonio vice president for DEI

Contact: Will Sansom, 210-567-2579,

SAN ANTONIO (June 14, 2022) — The Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine at UT Health San Antonio, a member of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), is proud to welcome the AAMC Minority Faculty Leadership Development Conference to the Alamo City this week. The conference is taking place Thursday through Sunday, June 16-19, at the Omni La Mansion del Rio, 112 College St.

photo of Chiquita Collins, PhD, MA
Chiquita Collins, PhD, MA

Chiquita Collins, PhD, MA, the inaugural vice president for diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) at UT Health San Antonio and the institution’s chief diversity officer, will deliver invited opening remarks at the welcome/networking reception at 6 p.m. Thursday and serve as a panelist for a session titled “Profiles of Success in Academic Medicine.” Dr. Collins chairs the AAMC Group on Diversity and Inclusion.

Photo of Dr. Monica Verduzco-Gutierrez
Monica Verduzco-Gutierrez, MD

Monica Verduzco-Gutierrez, MD, professor and chair of the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine in the Long School of Medicine, will be an invited panelist for the session, “Your Leadership Journey.”

“Over the years, we have nominated Long School of Medicine faculty to participate in the AAMC Minority Faculty Career Development Seminar and other similar leadership development programs,” Dr. Collins wrote in an email. “Two faculty members were selected to participate this year: Gabriela Gibson-Lopez, PsyD, assistant professor/clinical, Department of Family and Community Medicine, and Rodolfo Estrada Anzueto, MD, assistant professor/clinical, Department of Medicine – Division of Pulmonary Diseases.”

Former AAMC Minority Faculty Career Development Seminar participants included Yvonne Covin, MD,  assistant professor, Department of Medicine (2019);  Krystal Robinson, PsyD, assistant professor, Department of Pediatrics (2019); and Serena Michelle Ogunwole, MD, Department of Medicine (2017).

The seminar provides participants with real-world guidance and tools for pursuing career advancement in academic medicine, developing key professional competencies, and building skills in grant writing and communications, while expanding their network of colleagues and role models.

The Long School of Medicine Office for Inclusion and Diversity co-sponsors AAMC leadership development programs in partnership with department chairs of the medical school. Two to three early career and/or mid-career faculty members attend annually. These honorific, invited selections constitute one example of UT Health San Antonio’s commitment to fostering a welcoming and equitable campus environment that embraces inclusivity and promotes an authentic sense of belonging. UT Health San Antonio is placing importance on being intentional in all DEI efforts.

Read more about Dr. Collins’ selection earlier this year as the institution’s first vice president for DEI.

UT Health San Antonio, South Texas’ largest research university, has an annual research portfolio of $350 million and a Department of Education designation as a Hispanic-Serving Institution. Its Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine is listed among U.S. News & World Report’s best medical schools, ranking in the top 30% for research. Learn more about how UT Health San Antonio does everything it takes to make lives better.

Stay connected with The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio on FacebookTwitterLinkedInInstagram and YouTube.




Share This Article!