New chair of radiation oncology named

Mark Bonnen, M.D.

Mark Bonnen, M.D., has been named chairman of the Department of Radiation Oncology in the Long School of Medicine, effective Sept. 1, announced Robert Hromas, M.D., FACP, dean of the school.

Dr. Bonnen joins UT Health San Antonio from Baylor College of Medicine where he founded their department of radiation oncology in 2012. Since 2014, he has served as the Inaugural Interim Chair of Radiation Oncology at the Dan L. Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston.

Dr. Bonnen is a native Texan who graduated from Texas A&M University with degrees in physics and philosophy and worked in the nuclear industry for five years prior to attending medical school. After completing his internship at Baylor College of Medicine in internal medicine, he went on to complete a residency in radiation oncology at UT MD Anderson Cancer Center. He then spent two years on faculty at MD Anderson before founding a large private practice in the greater Houston area.

Dr. Hromas praised Dr. Bonnen for “establishing (Baylor’s radiation oncology) program on the national stage” and for his skill in supervising a radiation oncology residency program.

“He also has had significant clinical trial experience and will further enhance the outstanding clinical trials program at the Mays Cancer Center,” Dr. Hromas said.

In his announcement, Dr. Hromas thanked Nikos Papanikolaou, Ph.D., for serving as interim chair of the department, and Frank Miller, M.D., for leading the search committee.

The Mays Cancer Center is home to UT Health San Antonio MD Anderson Cancer Center.


Share This Article!