Nursing dean voted president-elect of American Association of Colleges of Nursing

SAN ANTONIO (March 27, 2012) — Eileen T. Breslin, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, dean of the School of Nursing at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, has been chosen president-elect of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN).

Dean Breslin will assume her new role March 26 at the conclusion of the association’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C. She will serve as president from 2014 to 2016. The AACN is the national voice for university and four-year college education programs in nursing, representing more than 690 member nursing schools at public and private institutions.

“Since she arrived on our campus in April 2008, Dean Breslin has made continual, significant and positive changes within the School of Nursing and in our community that are a credit to our university. Many of these changes are due to her involvement in such organizations as the AACN that set the course for the nursing profession on a national level,” said William L. Henrich, M.D., MACP, president of the UT Health Science Center.

Her longtime service on the AACN Board of Directors includes the role of treasurer (2005-2009), member-at-large (2001-2005), and member of the Government Affairs Committee (1994-1998). Dean Breslin also represented the AACN at the American Nurses Association Congress on Nursing Practice and Economics and as a member of the AACN/Department of Veterans Affairs Liaison Committee.

Her most recent honors include the President’s Award from the National Association of Hispanic Nurses and the Sigma Theta Tau Image Maker Award.

Dean Breslin is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing and the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners. She also is a Distinguished Practitioner in Nursing of the National Academies of Practice.

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, one of the country’s leading health sciences universities, ranks in the top 3 percent of all institutions worldwide receiving federal funding. Research and other sponsored program activity totaled $231 million in fiscal year 2011. The university’s schools of medicine, nursing, dentistry, health professions and graduate biomedical sciences have produced approximately 26,000 graduates. The $736 million operating budget supports eight campuses in San Antonio, Laredo, Harlingen and Edinburg. For more information on the many ways “We make lives better®,” visit

Share This Article!