President Henrich: A stellar research report

Long structure of the DNA double helix in depth of view.

Dear Colleagues,

I write to congratulate our faculty and their outstanding teams on the recently released institutional research data through the third quarter of FY19. Our chief financial officer, Andrea Marks, reports that all sponsored awards have increased by 27% compared to May of 2018, in large part due to the $17.9 million award to the School of Nursing for the Health and Human Services Commission Texas Targeted Opioid Response grant. Organized research awards have increased by $9.8 million (17%) with NIH awards increased by 21% as compared to May of last year. In the Long School of Medicine, organized research awards increased by $11.4 million with $9.7 million coming from NIH awards. Sponsored program expenditures have increased by 14% and there has been a similar 15% in F&A recovery. Clinical trial revenue is up by 10%, and DOD and CPRIT awards are increased by 15% and 17%, respectively.  Finally, the number of peer-reviewed NIH submissions grew by 14% across the institution, with a notable 19% increase coming from the Long School of Medicine basic science departments. Submissions from the Schools of Dentistry, Nursing and Health Professions have also shown strong growth, up to 46 so far this year as compared to 27 last year.

This positive growth in our research programs represents persistent determination by our faculty to advance discovery and is dependent on creativity, innovation, infrastructure and, importantly, collaboration and teamwork. Obtaining research funding is particularly difficult in current times, and this report of recent success should evoke a sense of pride in the many accomplishments of our institution, both individually and collectively. I know I speak for our entire UT Health family in offering sincere congratulations to everyone who has worked so hard to make this progress possible.

The full FY19 3rd quarter report can be found here:

With great respect, appreciation and admiration,

William L. Henrich, M.D., M.A.C.P.

President and Professor of Medicine

John P. Howe, III, MD, Distinguished Chair in Health Policy

Share This Article!