Presidential Award winner: De De Gardner, Dr.(c)P.H., RRT, FAARC, FCCP

De De Gardner
De De Gardner

One of a series

Clinical Excellence Awards

De De Gardner, Dr.(c)P.H., RRT, FAARC, FCCP, chair, Department of Respiratory Care, chair ad interim, Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences, Stephen Lloyd Barshop Endowed Professor in Respiratory Care, School of Health Professions

Watch the awards video

Remarks by Dr. Henrich at the March 22 awards dinner:

“As the chair of the highly respected respiratory therapy program in the School of Health Professions, De De Gardner’s leadership of clinical services at the MARC’s South Texas ALS Clinic is key to preparing future respiratory therapists in both the classroom and the clinic. She has been instrumental in bringing asthma services and education into local schools through educational outreach and programs. The dedication De De has for asthma control spreads to her students which has provided them with essential skills and a professional sense of purpose they will carry with them into their careers. She is focused on instilling into her students that they are the next generation of respiratory therapists who must make certain that disease management is a continuum, from the hospital setting to home. De De’s dedication is inspirational to her patients, their families and her students who aspire to be like her.”

From the nominating letter by Diane Rhodes, RRT, AE-C, assistant director, Health Services, North East Independent School District:

“De De represents a true community health care partner. Her partnership with the North East Independent School District has allowed the district’s Asthma Awareness Education Program to achieve its community outreach objectives as well as provide clinical internships for her students. Her involvement in these outreach events has allowed the district to achieve many “firsts”: the American Lung Association Asthma-Friendly Campus Initiative Gold Champion Awards and the EPA National Environmental Leadership Award in Asthma Management.”

Read the awards program

Share This Article!