SA Tomorrow formulating goals

SA Tomorrow

The City of San Antonio’s SA Tomorrow is an innovative, three-pronged planning effort, led by the Department of Planning and Community Development, to guide the city toward strategic, sustainable growth. It builds on the SA2020 vision begun by former Mayor Julian Castro for improving San Antonio by the year 2020.

SA Tomorrow is formulating goals and a vision for the city through 2040, when more than 1 million additional people will call the San Antonio area home.

The Health Science Center has been a leading partner in the city’s SA Tomorrrow initiative since its very inception. From the time of its first meeting in early 2015, members of our faculty and administration, all appointed by the President’s Office,  have represented us within multiple spheres of the initiative.

Representing the Health Science Center  on the overarching, Comprehensive Planning Advisory Group, has been Janie Canty-Mitchell, Ph.D., RN, professor and chair of the Department of Family and Community Health Systems in the School of Nursing.

The HSC has had participants in several working groups. Dr. Canty-Mitchell  serves on the Community Health group. Gayle T. Knight, CPA, assistant vice president for Strategic Planning & Institutional Analysis, serves in the Public Facilities & Safety group; David Shelledy, Ph.D., dean of the School of Health Professions, is in the Economic Competitiveness group; and Byron Hepburn, M.D., director of the Military Health Institute, co-chairs the Military group.

A final draft of the plan captures the full-range, resulting effort of this initiative and is being prepared to go to San  Antonio’s City Council for its review and approval in June. The Health Science Center will have additional opportunities to partner with the city in the implementation of these initiatives.

Learn more about the city’s Comprehensive Plan, Sustainability Plan and Multimodal Transportation Plan at SA Tomorrow.

Share This Article!