UT Health San Antonio faculty and staff among those named Health Care Heroes by San Antonio Business Journal


UT Health San Antonio faculty members, as well as partners from University Health System, are among those honored as Health Care Heroes by the San Antonio Business Journal.

The annual awards recognize the many professionals that make up San Antonio’s vital health care industry. A ceremony for the awardees will be held Oct. 20.

Jennifer Cerecero

Jennifer Cerecero, MS, CHP, LMP, was honored in the nonclinical Health Care Staff category. Cerecero is the executive director of Environmental Health and Safety. 




Robert Leverence, MD, FACP

Robert Leverence, MD, FACP, executive director of UT Health Physicians and interim vice dean for Clinical Affairs at the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine, was recognized in the nonhospital-based Outstanding Health Care Executive category.




Ruben Mesa, MD, FACP
Sudha Seshadri, M.D.
Sudha Seshadri, MD

Ruben Mesa, MD, FACP, executive director of the Mays Cancer Center, and Sudha Seshadri, MD, founding director of the Glenn Biggs Institute for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Diseases, were both honored in the category of Outstanding Medical Researcher.



Mandie Svatek, MD

Mandie Tibball Svatek, MD, associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics, was recognized in the category of hospital-based Outstanding Physician. Svatek was nominated for this honor by University Health System for her work as a hospitalist at University Hospital.




In addition, UT Health San Antonio partners on the Level 1 Trauma Team from University Health System were honored in the Health Care Team category.

Share This Article!