School of Medicine faculty achieve medical quality certification

SAN ANTONIO (June 12, 2014) — Four physicians of UT Medicine San Antonio have earned the designation Certified in Medical Quality (CMQ) from the American Board of Medical Quality and the American College of Medical Quality.

UT Medicine is the clinical practice of the School of Medicine at the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio. The four physicians who added CMQ to their credentials are Drs. Lois Bready, Jan Patterson, John Toohey and Yanping Ye. Each passed a certification examination to test basic knowledge in medical quality management.

Drs. Bready, Patterson, Toohey and Ye are graduates of the Health Science Center’s Clinical Safety & Effectiveness Course, which is offered to promote a culture of patient safety. The course is predicated on Institute of Medicine aims that call for patient care to be safe, timely, effective, efficient, equitable and patient centered. The course gives faculty and other health care providers the skill sets they need to integrate quality and safety into their everyday work.

Dr. Bready, professor of anesthesiology, is vice dean and DIO (designated institutional official) for graduate medical education in the School of Medicine. She is completing a postdoctoral fellowship in clinical safety and effectiveness offered by The University of Texas System.

Dr. Patterson, professor of medicine (infectious diseases) and pathology, is associate dean for quality and lifelong learning in the School of Medicine and director of the Center for Patient Safety & Health Policy at the Health Science Center.

Dr. Toohey, associate professor of orthopaedics, is assistant dean of graduate medical education and associate residency program director for orthopaedics in the School of Medicine.

Dr. Ye is an associate professor in the Division of Community Geriatrics in the Department of Family & Community Medicine.
For current news from the UT Health Science Center San Antonio, please visit our news website, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.


UT Medicine San Antonio is the clinical practice of the School of Medicine at the UT Health Science Center San Antonio. With more than 700 doctors – all School of Medicine faculty – UT Medicine is the largest medical practice in Central and South Texas. Expertise is in more than 100 medical specialties and subspecialties. Primary care doctors and specialists see patients in private practice at UT Medicine’s flagship clinical home, the Medical Arts & Research Center (MARC), located at 8300 Floyd Curl Drive, San Antonio 78229. Most major health plans are accepted, and UT Medicine physicians also practice at several local and regional hospitals. Call (210) 450-9000 to schedule an appointment, or visit for a list of clinics and phone numbers.

Share This Article!