Seven faculty members receive Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award

2016 Awards

Seven distinguished members of the faculty at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio have been selected to receive the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award from The University of Texas System.

Since 2008, the regents’ awards (ROTA) have recognized faculty members who deliver the highest quality of instruction in the classroom, laboratory, field and online. This year’s 60 honorees from across UT System’s 14 academic and health institutions will be honored at an awards ceremony Aug. 24 in Austin.

The award is the foremost teaching honor in the System and recognizes excellence of the highest degree, William L. Henrich, M.D., MACP, president of the Health Science Center, said in announcing the honorees.

The Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards are among the largest monetary awards in the nation for rewarding outstanding faculty performance.

The 2016 honorees from the Health Science Center are:

Martin Adamo, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry;

Kent Anderson, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of ophthalmology;

Anne Cale Jones, D.D.S., professor of pathology;

David P. Cappelli, D.M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., professor of comprehensive dentistry;

Kaparaboyna Ashok Kumar, M.D., professor of family and community medicine;

Robin Leach, Ph.D., professor of cellular and structural biology;

Alan Sakaguchi, Ph.D., associate professor of cellular and structural biology.

“These world-class educators continue to raise the bar of excellence set by their predecessors here at our academic health center as they serve our students, engaging and reinforcing them in their journeys to their future professions,” Dr. Henrich said. “They are indeed innovative and inspirational educators. This recognition by the Board of Regents is well deserved.”

Board of Regents chairman Paul L. Foster praised the honorees.

“UT educators provide invaluable mentorship and deliver high-quality instruction and innovation while enhancing the minds of the nation’s next leaders,” Foster said. “Their deep commitment to outstanding education ensures student success across the System. The Board of Regents is honored to recognize our dedicated faculty members through the ROTA program.”

The Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards recognizes tenured, tenure-track as well as other instructional faculty for their outstanding teaching, mentoring and personal commitment to students and the learning process.

Recipients are vetted by their peer colleagues, students and UT presidents before advancing to competition at the System level.

In their evaluations of a candidate’s teaching performance, members of the review panel consider a range of activities and criteria, including classroom expertise, curricula quality, innovative course development and student learning outcomes.


Share This Article!