Two faculty members honored with 2018 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards

Regents' Outstanding Teaching AwardTwo distinguished members of the faculty at UT Health San Antonio have been selected to receive the 2018 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award from The University of Texas System.

Robert Esterl Jr., M.D., associate dean for undergraduate medical education and transplant center surgical director, and Ellen Kraig, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy, were honored with the award.

Overall, the System named 27 faculty members from UT’s 14 academic and health institutions to receive the teaching award. They each will receive $25,000 in recognition of their commitment to student success.

Over the last decade, regents have awarded more than $19 million to 700 UT educators for delivering the highest quality of instruction in the classroom, lab, field and online.

“This distinguished honor is awarded only to a few who inspire their students by their extraordinary teaching expertise, mentoring and personal commitment,” UT Health San Antonio President William L. Henrich, M.D., MACP, said in congratulating Drs. Esterl and Kraig. “As a result, your students flourish with success which reflects the honored traits you have used to set them on their path to attainment.”

Board of Regents Chairman Sara Martinez Tucker said, “We are indebted to these educators who exemplify great teaching on every level. These are educators, researchers and health care professionals who – no matter how long they’ve been teaching – never stop thinking about new and innovative ways to enhance the learning experience.”

Nominees undergo a series of rigorous evaluations by students, peer faculty and external reviewers. The review panels consider a range of activities and criteria in their evaluations of a candidate’s teaching performance, including classroom expertise, curricula quality, innovative course development and student learning outcomes.

Recipients of the 2018 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards will be recognized Aug. 9 at a reception held in conjunction with the Board of Regents meeting in Austin.


Share This Article!