Two faculty members named to Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 list

Ramesh Grandhi, M.D., assistant professor in the Department of Neurosurgery, and Teresa Evans, Ph.D., Department of Pharmacology and a leader of career development programs in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, have been named to the San Antonio Business Journal‘s 40 Under 40 list.

Ramesh Grandhi, M.D.

Each year, the Business Journal honors 40 rising stars in San Antonio who are taking the lead in their careers and giving back to the community.

Dr. Grandhi serves as the director of neurotrauma at UT Health San Antonio and is also a dual trained cerebrovascular neurosurgeon. He earned his undergraduate degree from Duke University, obtained a master’s degree in physiology and biophysics at Georgetown University, and attended medical school at the Medical College of Virginia of Virginia Commonwealth University. Dr. Grandhi did his residency in the Department of Neurological Surgery at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.

Dr. Grandhi has authored over 50 peer-reviewed publications and neurosurgery book chapters. Also, having been a high school teacher prior to medical school, he is highly interested and involved in teaching medical students and residents.

Teresa Evans, Ph.D.

Dr. Evans received her Ph.D. in neuroscience in 2014 from UT Health San Antonio. During her graduate training she worked to build a foundation of career development programming for graduate trainees (graduate students and postdoctoral fellows). Those efforts led to the creation of the Office of Career Development in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, which she now directs.

Dr. Evans leads monthly workshops that focus on a variety of topics, hosts regional symposia, and holds one-on-one meetings tailored toward a graduate STEM audience.

She is also the co-author of a book exploring career options for Ph.D. scientists hoping to find work outside academe. The book, ReSearch: A Career Guide for Scientists, was published last May by Academic Press.

This year’s recipients will be recognized at a dinner event Feb. 22 at Pearl Stable.

Share This Article!