UT System Academy of Health Science Education elects 3 from San Antonio

SAN ANTONIO (Feb. 24, 2011) — Three outstanding faculty members of The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio were elected this month to the UT System Academy of Health Science Education.

Linda M. McManus, Ph.D.; Charleen M. Moore, Ph.D.; and Omid B. Rahimi, Ph.D., of the Health Science Center were among 12 inductees selected from the six UT health science campuses this year. Dr. McManus is professor of pathology at the Health Science Center, Dr. Moore is professor of cellular and structural biology, and Dr. Rahimi is assistant professor of cellular and structural biology and director of the Willed Body Program.

Janet F. Williams, M.D., Distinguished Teaching Professor of pediatrics, is the incoming president of the Academy, which is a formal organization of distinguished scholars recognized for their teaching excellence. The Academy is committed to the enhancement of health science education.

Twenty Health Science Center faculty members have now been elected to the Academy since it was established in 2005.

A goal of the Academy is to have diverse membership representing the many disciplines in health science education. The Academy’s seventh annual Innovations in Health Science Education Conference will be held for the first time in San Antonio on May 18-19. For details visit: http://cme.uthscsa.edu/Innovations2011.asp

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, one of the country’s leading health sciences universities, ranks in the top 3 percent of all institutions worldwide receiving U.S. federal funding. Research and other sponsored program activity totaled $228 million in fiscal year 2010. The university’s schools of medicine, nursing, dentistry, health professions and graduate biomedical sciences have produced approximately 26,000 graduates. The $744 million operating budget supports eight campuses in San Antonio, Laredo, Harlingen and Edinburg. For more information on the many ways “We make lives better®,” visit www.uthscsa.edu.

Share This Article!