UTHSC professor honored by Hispanic Dental Association

Ramon Baez, D.D.S., M.P.H.

San Antonio (Nov. 4, 2003) – The Board of Trustees and  members of the Hispanic Dental Association (HDA) have  awarded Ramon Baez, D.D.S., M.P.H., professor in the  Department of General Dentistry and Community Dentistry at  The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio  (UTHSC), the HDA’s Recognition of Excellence award. Dr.  Baez  was honored for his nine years of dedicated service to the  HDA and for his outstanding performance as the scientific  chair for the HDA’s 2003 annual meeting. He has been a member of the HDA since the organization was founded in 1991. Dr. Baez has served as a member of the HDA’s Board of Trustees, its Executive Committee, various other committees, and as its president. Sandy Reed, HDA executive director, presented the award at a ceremony during the HDA’s annual session held Oct. 10 in Washington, D.C.

In addition to being a faculty member at the UTHSC, Dr. Baez serves as director of the Dental School’s Multicultural Program, which is the administrative umbrella for the Dental School’s Hispanic Center of Excellence and the World Health Organization’s Collaborating Center.

Dr. Baez has been a faculty member at the UTHSC for 23 years. Prior to working at the UTHSC, he was the director of the Division of Evaluation and Standards Development for the former Council on Dental Materials and Devices of the American Dental Association in Chicago, Ill. Throughout his career Dr. Baez has earned numerous awards and honors, including the International Dentist of the Year Award from the Academy of Dentistry International. His research has been widely published in dental journals across the nation.

Share This Article!