UTHSC to name auditorium foyer for Parman, honor scholarship donors

WHAT: Luncheon to recognize scholarship donors and recipients at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, and to name the Dan Parman Auditorium Foyer in honor of San Antonio businessman and philanthropist Dan F. Parman

WHEN: 11 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 23

WHERE: Auditorium foyer on the Health Science Center’s Central Campus, 7703 Floyd Curl; the foyer recently was enhanced to expand meeting and study areas for students.

WHO: Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D., president of the Health Science Center, will recognize Dan Parman, who has been an avid supporter of the university’s missions since 1986. He established the Dan F. Parman Distinguished Chair in Medicine, which has supported research of Parkinson’s disease, HIV/AIDS, leukemia and diabetes. His philanthropy also has supported a multidisciplinary voice center and the university’s world-class Research Imaging Center.

Dr. Cigarroa will recognize new and longtime donors and their scholarship recipients. Among the newest scholarship endowments at the Health Science Center are the Barbara Warren Cramblet Memorial Scholarship (School of Nursing), the Nancy Smith Hurd Endowed Nursing Scholarship, the Dr. and Mrs. A.D. Major Endowed Scholarship (School of Medicine), the Kirti and Mahendra Patel Endowed Scholarship for Ethics and Humanity in Medical Education, and the Donald C. Stephenson Endowed Memorial Scholarship in Respiratory Care.

STORY The Patel Scholarship honors Dr. Mahendra Patel’s sister, Urmee Patel, who died
LINES: from a brain tumor during childhood. Dr. Patel became a pediatric hematologist-oncologist to care for seriously ill children.

The Major Scholarship honors the memory of Dr. David Major, who served in a MASH unit in the South Pacific during World War II and later spent his career delivering generations of babies. His wife, a nurse, often helped at his side.


The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is the leading research institution in South Texas and one of the major health sciences universities in the world. With an operating budget of $576 million, the Health Science Center is the chief catalyst for the $15.3 billion biosciences and health care sector in San Antonio’s economy. The Health Science Center has had an estimated $35 billion impact on the region since inception and has expanded to six campuses in San Antonio, Laredo, Harlingen and Edinburg. More than 22,000 graduates (physicians, dentists, nurses, scientists and allied health professionals) serve in their fields, including many in Texas. Health Science Center faculty are international leaders in cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, aging, stroke prevention, kidney disease, orthopaedics, research imaging, transplant surgery, psychiatry and clinical neurosciences, pain management, genetics, nursing, allied health, dentistry and many other fields.

Share This Article!