White Coat Ceremony marks rite of passage


18th Annual School of Medicine Convocation and White Coat Ceremony for the Class of 2018


10 a.m. Sunday, July 20


Holly Auditorium, UT Health Science Center at San Antonio, 7703 Floyd Curl Drive, San Antonio, Texas 78229


More than 200 students entering the School of Medicine at the UT Health Science Center will be presented white coats, which symbolize their journey to becoming physicians. At the end of the ceremony, the students will in unison recite The Physician’s Oath of Hippocrates. (Photo opportunity)

William L. Henrich, M.D., MACP, president of the Health Science Center, and Francisco González-Scarano, M.D., dean of the School of Medicine and vice president for medical affairs, will bring greetings, as will James Humphreys, M.D., president-elect of the Bexar County Medical Society, and Valerie Pronio-Stelluto, M.D., president of the School of Medicine Alumni Association Board of Directors. The students will hear addresses from Dean González and Joshua Hanson, M.D., assistant professor of hospital medicine, who is the winner of the 2014-15 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award.


The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, one of the country’s leading health sciences universities, ranks in the top 3 percent of all institutions worldwide receiving National Institutes of Health funding. The university’s schools of medicine, nursing, dentistry, health professions and graduate biomedical sciences have produced more than 29,000 graduates. The $765 million operating budget supports eight campuses in San Antonio, Laredo, Harlingen and Edinburg. For more information on the many ways “We make lives better®,” visit www.uthscsa.edu.

Share This Article!