Women faculty honored by Bexar County Medical Society

Fifteen female faculty members from the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio were recently honored for their contributions to medicine by the Bexar County Medical Society. The medical society has a long history of celebrating local women in medicine by hosting an annual celebration in recognition of Women in Medicine Month.

The 2021 Collette M. Kohler, MD, Annual Extraordinary Women in Medicine event, sponsored by the Long School of Medicine, was hosted by BCMS Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director Melody Newson, along with Texas Medical Association President, Dr. Linda Villarreal.

In appreciation of their exceptional patient care services, honorees received a small, engraved plaque and gift, and are featured in this month’s BCMS San Antonio Medicine magazine:

Stacey Allen, MD, Anesthesiology

Emily M. Becker, MD, Dermatology

Christina C. Bird, DO, Emergency Medicine

Monica Chapman, PA, Urology

Denise Dahm, MD, MPH, Geriatrics/Primary Care

Marjorie David, MD, MS, Pathology

Hopethe Hubbard, MD, Hepatology/Endoscopy

Kanapa Kornsawad, MD, Hospital Medicine

Jennifer LaCoss, MD, Palliative Care

Alicia Parker, MD, Neurology, Glenn Biggs Institute for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Diseases

Laura M. Rosenkranz, MD, Gastroenterology

Umber A. Salman, MD, Radiology/Nuclear Radiology

Christine B. Taylor, MD, Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery

Marcy R. Wiemers, MD, Family and Community Medicine

Wisdeen Wu, DO, Pediatrics/Comprehensive Care

Share This Article!