2023 Faculty Senate Leadership Awardees recognized

A compass pointing to the word leadership.


Three UT Health San Antonio faculty members were presented with 2023 Faculty Senate Leadership Awards during an award ceremony Oct. 11.

Dr. Cindy Sickora in her UT Health San Antonio-branded white coat.
Cindy Sickora, DNP, RN, FAAN

Cindy Sickora, DNP, RN, FAAN, received the 2023 Administrative Leadership Award. Sickora, the School of Nursing’s vice dean of practice and engagement, was recognized as a “transformational academic leader who developed sustainable, nurse-led community-academic partnerships that integrate nursing practice, service, research and education,” according to the Faculty Senate announcement.

The senate praised Sickora’s leadership model, which they said resulted in enhanced faculty development, faculty welfare, communication with faculty committees and community partners. The Administrative Leadership Award is an accolade bestowed annually to a senior member of administration. It serves as a commendation and a vote of confidence in recognition of exceptional and sustained efforts in advancing and nurturing the missions and welfare of the faculty.

Head and shoulders photo of Dr. Saket Kottewar.
Saket Kottewar, MD, MPH, MHA, FACP

Saket Kottewar, MD, MPH, MHA, FACP and Sudha Seshadri, MD, DM, were selected as 2023 Faculty Leadership Awardees.

Kottewar is an associate professor/clinical and the section chief of hospital medicine. Seshadri is the Robert R. Barker Distinguished University Professor and founding director of the Glenn Biggs Institute for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Diseases. Both leaders were acknowledged among their faculty peers for outstanding, long-term

Head and shoulders photo of Dr. Sudha Seshadri.
Sudha Seshadri, MD, DM

contributions that promote, support and elevate the collective endeavors of the broader faculty in fulfilling the university’s educational, service and research missions.

The Faculty Senate provides representation for university faculty to ensure every member has a voice regarding issues that may affect their rights, privileges, responsibilities and welfare regarding teaching, research and clinical programs and services at UT Health San Antonio.

To learn more about the Faculty Senate, visit My UT Health. University log-in credentials are required for access.

Share This Article!